Year of Children's Vision

Resources

Children’s Vision Information

 

Vision Problems

Signs of children’s vision problems (English)

Signs of children’s vision problems (Spanish)

Amblyopia

Color blindness

Conjunctivitis (Pink Eye)

Diabetes and your eyes

Refractive errors

Strabismus

 

General Eye Health

Family Fact Sheet- Vision Screening is Key to Healthy Development- (English version)

Family Fact Sheet- Vision Screening is Key to Healthy Development- (Spanish version)

Family Fact Sheet- Vision Screening is Key to Healthy Development- (Chinese version)

Children’s Vision Problems in Culturally Diverse Populations fact sheet

Development of vision

The eye and how we see

Your Child's Glasses

 

Eye Safety

Fireworks safety

Preventing children’s eye injuries

Preventing sports eye injuries

First aid for eye emergencies

Children and UV protection

 

Educational Resources

How to Create a Strong Vision Health System of Care

PBA Glossary of vision terms

AAPOS Vision Terms and Conditions

The Eye Patch Club

The Eye Patch Club is a fun and supportive program for families during a child's amblyopia patching treatment.

Star Pupils Eye Health and Safety Curriculum

The Star Pupils curricula have been aligned with National Health, National Science and National Physical Education Standards

Grades K-2 Curriculum provides interesting and fun facts about vision and encourages students to protect their eyes. The three modules can be used to complete a single, longer classroom session on eye health and safety or divided into three shorter classroom lessons.

Vision discussion Forum for Families

PBA Public Health Reports on Vision Preservation

 

Conversations and Presentations

NHSA BAM Radio presentation: Vision Screening: Avoiding the Big Mistakes
Guests: Dr. Bruce Moore, Dr. Jean Ramsey, and Susan Proctor

Why Do Children Need Vision Screenings? - Webinar

Wednesday, November 20th, 2013
1:30pm CST / 2:30pm EST / 12:30pm MST / 11:30am PST

Watch the Recorded Webinar:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a4HmfO4eGRk

Download Presentation Slides: http://www.schoolhealth.com/media/pdf/Why_Do_We_Screen_Vision_112013.pdf

Connecting to Eye Care

Financial Assistance Information

National Eye Institute

American Academy of Ophthalmology

American Optometric Association

All About Vision

American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

 

Vision Screening Tools

Prevent Blindness America/School Health online store for vision screening equipment

Pediatric Vision Screening Referral Form REVISED

AAPOS Vision Screening Kit and Supporting Resources

School Health Vision Screening Tools

Good-Lite Vision Screening Tools and Resources

Find PBA in Your State